You Are My Sunshine

Hello everyone and happy weekend! I have been a bit MIA this week while I have been purging and reorganizing my craft room, but my husband got me a present that I just had to use and share with you!

My wonderful husband bought me … my very own spool of fishing line! If you follow my Instagram, you know I love magical rain shaker cards, but I kept forgetting to order fishing line. So for each card, I would go out to the garage and steal one of my husband’s fishing poles and pilfer some fishing line from it. It worked great, but I don’t think he wanted to keep sharing, ha!

So I used my brand new fishing line to make a magical rain shaker for today’s post. The Quack Me Up set from Heffy Doodle was perfect to use for my scene.

I love these cards so much. The clear beads falling from the clouds in the background really look like sparkling rain!

To start this card, I blended Lawn Fawn inks in Manatee, Minty Fresh, and Lemonade onto an A2 piece of Neenah Solar White cardstock. I created diagonals with the Lemonade ink so that it would look like a sunbeam once the card was assembled. I stamped the sentiment from Heffy Doodle Quack Me Up with Versafine Onyx Black ink and embossed with clear.

I added strips of foam tape to the top and bottom of the background and marked off every quarter inch with a pencil. Then I started stringing the beads! I used ten beads on each string for this card. As you are working, it helps to use double sided tape to hold the string in place on the foam. Once all the beads were on, I added a second layer of foam tape to sandwich the strings in place and give plenty of space for the beads to move. Tip: if the beads are sticking, add a bit of anti-static powder to the sides of the foam tape with a small paintbrush – no more sticky beads!

If you prefer, My Favorite Things has a die to make these shaker cards, but I’ve always done it this way so I can’t say if it is easier or not.

For the top “frame”, I made a cloudy sky by using Lawn Fawn Cloud Borders to cut pieces of both white cardstock and vellum. I blended a bit of Manatee ink on the white cardstock piece to play into the “skies are gray” part of the sentiment. I softly blended Lawn Fawn Freshly Cut Grass ink onto another piece of white cardstock and die cut it with Lawn Fawn Grassy Border. I attached the clouds and grass to a frame I made with Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangle dies and added the piece to my card. I did add more thin strips of foam tape to the sides for support.

I finished the card with some adorable images from the Heffy Doodle Quack Me Up set. I stamped them in Lawn Fawn Jet Black ink and colored with Copics. The duck holding the bear umbrella is just the cutest!

Once the card is assembled, the beads are hidden until the card is held vertically and they shower down the background! It really is the coolest effect!

Thank you so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment